My Latest Craving: Apple Crisp

As most of you know, the weeks of October are prime time for apple picking.  Seeing that I’m not allowed to eat apples on my diet, we decided to skip our annual trip to the apple orchard.  Insert crying sad face here.

The past couple of weeks I’ve read plenty of Facebook posts about friends going apple picking which have lead to some serious cravings for apple crisp.  Like stupid insane cravings…  Like I would kill someone for a piece with vanilla ice cream… YUM.  Ok, so I wouldn’t really kill someone but you get the point.

Below you’ll find an extremely easy recipe for apple crisp (and a really fun photo by James Farrell from our 2010 apple picking adventure in Maine).  Enjoy the wonderful smells that emanate from your stove and fill your house.  You won’t be disappointed, I promise.

Best-Ever Apple Crisp (from the Anita Quasquicentennial Cookbook)

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 4 cups sliced apples (I usually leave the skins on mine but that’s entirely up to you!)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 nutmeg

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Work the sugars, flour and butter together with a pastry blender until crumbly.  Place sliced apples in a greased, shallow 9×9 inch baking dish.  Pour water and lemon juice over apples and sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg.  Spread crumb mixture over the top.  Bake, uncovered for 50 to 60 minutes or until crust is crisply browned.  Serve warm with ice cream.

3 comments
  1. Good site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day!

    • Hi Devon, thanks for your interest! If you’d like to be notified when new posts are made you can add your email to the “Follow Me!” prompt at the bottom of the page. You’ll get an email in your inbox that you’ll need to confirm! Thanks again!

  2. Sally Nelson said:

    Glad you got to have some apple crisp. Made me hungry for it too. I’ll have to get apples the next time I go to the store. Love ya, GMA

Leave a Reply

