My Latest Craving: Chocolate Cream Pie

My family and closest friends know that I am absolutely obsessed with chocolate and basically anything that contains it.  Unfortunately for me, I am restricted from chocolate of any kind on the Candida diet.  I was devastated at first but it turns out after a couple weeks of being chocolate-free, the cravings had subsided.   <Insert random story here>  Around Halloween I had a bag of chocolates in the office – for my co-workers, I swear!  On occasion, I would stick my head in the bag and get a big whiff of the chocolate emanating from all the little wrapped packages.  Weird?  Yes.  But a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do in times of crisis!

Anywhoo…

A few days ago I started craving the chocolate pie my mother used to make for my family and I (but mostly for me) during the holidays.  It was always the first dessert to disappear in our household.  I would often find myself going to the refrigerator for the very last slice only to realize that one of my older brothers had already eaten it for breakfast.

the pancake girl ghirardelli dark chocolate chopped

Chocolate Cream Pie (from Mrs. Fields’ I Love Chocolate! Cookbook)

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 5 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 and 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

1. In a large saucepan combine sugar, cornstarch, salt, cream and milk.  Mix dry ingredients with whisk before adding to liquid.  Bring to simmer over medium heat stirring constantly to dissolve sugar – about 12 minutes.  Remove from heat.

2. In a small bowl, beat the yolks and eggs.  Whisk 1/4 cup of cream into eggs to warm them.  Transfer eggs into cream.  Cook over medium heat stirring constantly, until it is of pudding texture – about 6 minutes.  DO NOT BOIL!  Remove from heat and add chocolate.  Stir until chocolate is all melted.  Add vanilla.  Spread custard onto pie and cover pie with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 4 hours.

1 comment
  1. Sounds good. I’m on the same diet as you and recently gave into a chocolate craving. In fact, a half-eaten bar of evidence is still in my room. No side effects, *Crosses fingers*

    -Jo

Leave a Reply

