A Valentine’s Day Treat

The other day my co-worker, Kathryn, and I went to Starbucks for a much needed coffee break.  Before getting caffeine we hit up the closest Duane Reade to pick up some candy for Kathryn who is as thin as a twig but eats sugar like it’s her job.  She was specifically looking for Whoppers Robin Eggs but had to make do with Valentine’s Day candy as that’s all that was available.  After much speculation, she picked a box and we were off.  I told her I wanted ONE piece.  After all I haven’t eaten these past few months, I figured I owed myself something little.

When we got back to the office I put my jacket down at my desk, checked my email and soon headed over to her desk for that ONE piece of chocolate I declared myself too.  She hadn’t even taken the plastic wrap off so I did the honors and opened the box.  Kathryn, who has a serious peanut allergy, was devastated when the box of chocolates she bought listed “peanut butter” among the ingredients and didn’t include a diagram of what was what. After having downed three chocolates in a hot second, I looked down at Kathryn’s desk and saw one unhappy box of chocolates.  She had pulled each chocolate apart one by one smelling and looking at them trying to decipher whether or not they contained peanuts of some sort.  I sat there feeling bad about breaking my own rule of allowing myself just ONE and then Kathryn picked up the box and headed toward the garbage can.

“Wait!  Don’t throw them away!” I said desperately.

Kathryn brought the box back to me and watched as I devoured the rest of the broken chocolates.  (In my defense, there were only 3 left.  So I only ate HALF the box.  Sigh…)  She laughed while she watched and said, “You must be going through something because in the time I’ve known you I haven’t seen you eat this much sugar… ever…”

In fact, yes.  I am going through something – an intense chocolate withdrawal!  Unfortunately, because of my diet, I won’t be getting any chocolate for Valentine’s Day.  Instead of the classic flowers and chocolate that’s expected, James and I decided to make each other something.

Of course I can’t reveal my plans but if he’s lucky, I will wake up early to make these special rosewater and bacon pancakes I came up with for this special LOVEly holiday.  While you’re at it throw some chocolate chips in there and you’ve got both your flower and chocolate components covered for the day!

the pancake girl rosewater bacon pancakes

Rosewater Bacon Pancakes

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 teaspoon rose extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 2 pieces cooked bacon, chopped fine

Combine egg, coconut milk, oil and maple syrup in a large bowl.  Add w.w. flour, baking soda and salt – mix.  Add rose extract and vanilla – mix.  Add balsamic vinegar – mix until combined.  Heat griddle to medium heat.  Drop batter by large spoonfuls onto the griddle and sprinkle bacon bits over tops.  Cook until bubbles form and edges are dry.  Flip and cook until browned on other side.

Leave a Reply

