Welcome Fall!

As I’m sure most of you know, yesterday was the first day of Fall and I can’t tell you how happy I am!  When I was a little girl, I looked forward to trading in my shorts and t-shirts for long pants and sweaters.  Not only do I still look forward to that clothing transition but I also get excited about fall foods.  Apples, pumpkins and squash, OH MY!  I’m mostly excited about going apple and pumpkin picking in October.  We had to forgo this Fall tradition last year due to lack of transportation but we don’t have that problem this year!

Anywho, I don’t know what you guys did yesterday to celebrate the changing seasons but I, of course, made my pumpkin pancakes.  These pancakes are chock full of spices and rich in taste!

the pancake girl pumpkin pancakes

Pumpkin Pancakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup canned (or freshly cooked) pumpkin
  • 1 Tablespoon molasses
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon cloves
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar

Mix eggs, molasses, pumpkin, olive oil and spices in a small bowl and set aside.  Mix flour and baking soda in large bowl.  Add pumpkin mixture and coconut milk and stir.  Lastly, add balsamic vinegar and mix until combined.

Heat griddle to medium heat and coat with cooking spray. Drop batter by large spoonfuls onto the griddle and cook until bubbles form and edges are dry.  Flip and cook until browned on other side.  Serve with butter and maple syrup, YUM!

In other news, this is the 2nd CSA pickup in a row that we’ve received these flowers:

the pancake girl unknown flowers

I LOVE them but no one seems to know what they’re called.  Does anyone have an idea??

2 comments
  1. Tammy said:

    It’s hard to be certain but I think we used to call those cock’s combs. – scientifically celosia.

    • Tammy – you’re absolutely right! Thanks so much for your response!

      tpg

Leave a Reply

